Executive Committee

Wiltshire Association of Local Councils is a membership organisation for local councils which is run by local councils.

WALC has an Executive Committee made up of representatives of member councils in Wiltshire and Swindon.

Two representatives from each community area in Wiltshire are permitted on the Executive Committee, which includes one member from a smaller parish council in the area and one member from each town or city council (or parish council with an electorate of over 8,000).

Elections for places on this committee take place every four years.

The current chairman of WALC is Councillor John Scragg, member representative from Chippenham Town Council.  Vice-chairman is Councillor Tony Pickernell from Ludgershall Town Council

Meetings of the Executive Committee take place three times a year, usually in Devizes on a Monday evening.  These meetings are fixed to coincide with the National Association of Local Councils’ (NALC) National Council meeting so that members can inform debate at these meetings. The current NALC rep for the WALC is Councillor David Roberts, member representative from South Marston Parish Council.

The Annual General Meeting is held in the autumn.

The members’ area of this website contains agendas and minutes of WALC Executive Committee.

We currently have a number of vacancies on the WALC Executive Committee. If you are a member of a WALC-member-council and are interested in becoming involved, please contact Katie Fielding at the WALC office.  It may be that your area is currently under-represented.